Skip to content

Election Tuesday

your_vote_counts_button_3With all the attention on the recent Kentucky Republican Caucus and McCreary County Wet/Dry votes in the past two months, it is easy to forget another election is almost upon us.

Next Tuesday McCreary Countians will, once again, return to the polls to cast their ballots in the 2016 Primary Election.

Only four races will appear on the ballot, two for Republicans and two for Democrats.

Perhaps the most interesting vote will be for the Democratic nominee for the Presidential election this coming fall.

With front-runner Hillary Clinton less than 200 delegates away from securing her party’s nomination, a win in Kentucky and its 55 delegates could push her closer to challenging the presumed Republican candidate, Donald Trump, in the fall.

Contender Bernie Sanders will also appear on the ballot Tuesday, along with Martin J. O’Malley, Roque Rocky De La Fuente as well as an “uncommitted” option for voters for their choice for the Democratic nominee.

Republicans in Kentucky have already cast their votes for President in the March Republican Caucus, where Trump emerged as a winner with 17 delegates, and the Presidential race will not appear on the ballot Tuesday.

Instead McCreary County Republicans will be able to cast their votes in two races: U.S. Senator and U.S. Representative.

Senator Rand Paul is facing a challenge for his United States Senator seat by two candidates: Stephens Howard Slaughter and James R. Gould.

The winner of that Primary race will face off against one of seven candidates fighting to win the Primary Democrat vote: Tom Rocktenwald, Grant T. Short, Sellus Wilder, Jim Gray, Rory Houlihan, Jeff Kender and Ron Leach.

The race for the 5th Congressional District is between two candidates, incumbent Harold “Hal” Rogers and challenger John Burk Jr.

There have been no Democrat challengers filing for the seat, and the winner of the Primary will run unopposed in the fall, unless an independent or write-in candidate declares prior to the General Election in November.

All McCreary County polling places will be open from 6 a.m. until 6 p.m. on Tuesday.

Leave a Comment