Skip to content

Local races set

With Tuesday’s deadline to officially declare for the November General Election, most incumbents in the four local races have filed their intention to run again, while five individuals have signaled their desire to challenge two of the seats.

The General Election will be held on November 8, but the only local races to appear on the ballot will be for McCreary County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor and McCreary County Board of Education – both non-partisan races.

Three Board of Education seats will be on the ballot this year, Districts 1, 3, and 5.

District 1 Board member Nelda Gilreath, a two-term incumbent, officially filed last week and will run unopposed in the upcoming election.

In District 3, incumbent Roxanne Shook did not file for re-election, so her seat will be up for grabs between two individuals who have entered the race.

Dustin Stephens, of Stearns, and Casey Daugherty, of Stearns, will be on the ballot to take over the vacated seat come January.

District 5 incumbent Debbie Gibson will face a challenge from three contenders. Kevin Taylor of Whitley City officially entered the race earlier this month, while James Kiser, of Whitley City and Belinda Wilson filed their intention to run this week.

Three incumbents for the McCreary County Soil and Water Conservation District have submitted their names for inclusion on the General Election Ballot: Anthony Trammell, Bradley Coffey, Jr., and Coby Stephens. The three were first elected in 2012.

One member also elected in the last election, Peg Taylor, did not file.

The three names will appear on the ballot, but the remaining seat can still be won via a write-in candidate.

While the deadline to appear on the ballot has passed, potential write-in candidates have until October 28 to register with the County Clerk’s Office.

Leave a Comment