Skip to content

McCreary County Chamber of Commerce Presents Annual Awards

Kentucky’s Lt. Governor, Jenean Hampton, spoke to members of the McCreary County Chamber of Commerce and others who attended the Chamber’s 2016 Annual Meeting and Banquet held recently at the Flat Rock Christian Life Center.

During her remarks, Hampton spoke of her rise from childhood poverty to becoming the first African American to hold statewide office in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.  She also highlighted the importance of volunteerism and encouraged those in attendance, especially youth, to reach out anonymously through volunteering and charitable acts to “help others find joy in their lives.”  She spoke of the value of remembering life in the context of “…it’s not about you, it’s about God.”

Incoming Chamber President, Suzie Thompson, also addressed the group by expressing excitement at serving the Chamber and community in the coming year.  Thompson expressed her desire for the coming year to be a time of “embracing change” and focused on the Chamber’s plans to listen to members of the community in deciding what is needed for local economic growth.  Thompson also spoke of the importance of shopping local.

The following individuals or groups were recognized during the awards presentation.  Lyndsey Pennington (Student of the Year), Pine Knot Intermediate art teacher Page Bryant (Educator of the Year), Larry’s Somerset Oil (Business of the Year), Sandra Cundiff (Business Person of the Year), longtime Girl Scout Troop Leader Wanda Monroe and Whitley City Firefighter and Chaplain Terry Baker (Citizens of the Year) and Substance Abuse activist Roger Owens (President’s Award).

Leadership McCreary County recognized State Representative Kenneth Upchurch for his longtime support of the leadership program.  Recognition was also given in honor of the 25th anniversary of the Big South Fork River & Recreation Area and the 40th anniversary of the McCreary County Public Library.  Dan Ridner presented the Morris & Katherine Strunk Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously to Oscar Hamilton.  Hamilton’s son, Roger, accepted the award honoring his father.

The Honorable Judge Dan Ballou installed the following new McCreary County Chamber of Commerce officers for 2016-2017:  President Suzie Thompson, President-elect Whitney Tucker, Vice President Trey Ball, Secretary Pat Cash, Treasurer Lisa Ball, Past President Diana Bybee, and Board Members Greg Whitis, Mehg Marshall, David Duncan, Jonathan Strunk, Kristine McFeeters, and Mike Cash.

Girl Scout Troop 262 led the Pledge of Allegiance and assisted during the Banquet.  The Troop will earn a Community Event Service patch for their participation.    Greg Burdine served as Master of Ceremonies for the event.



Leave a Comment