Skip to content

New names enter race

By Greg Bird

As the registration deadline to appear on the 2018 Primary Election ballot draws nearer, three more office seekers have thrown their hats in to the ring this week, bringing the total number of candidates to 27.

New names have filed for Sheriff, Magistrate and Constable.

Donald Daugherty, who has served the past four years as Constable for District 3 entered the race for Sheriff as a Republican, making three candidates in the Republican Primary so far including Freddie Clark and Mark Keith. Sheriff Randy Waters is the only candidate on the Democratic ticket so far.

Former McCreary County Magistrate Butler E. Waters filed his intent to seek the post once again, this time as an Independent candidate in District 2. Incumbent Magistrate Roger Phillips is the only other candidate for the position so far as a Republican. Waters had previously served one term as Magistrate for District 3 as a Democrat from 1990-1994.

As an Independent, Waters will not appear on the ballot in the Primary Election, but will be included in the General Election.

Democrat Chuck Duncan has entered the race for Constable in District 2. Republican Bill Hayes, who currently serves in the post, has also registered for re-election.

In other races United States Representative Harold “Hal” Rogers has officially started his bid for his 20th term in Washington for the 5th District. As of Wednesday he is unopposed.

A potential challenger to State Representative Ken Upchurch in the 52nd District has emerged with Democrat Yovany Pino, of Monticello registering for the seat. Upchurch has yet to file for re-election.
The deadline for candidate filings is January 30.

To date the candidates who have filed are as follows:
Judge Executive – Jimmie “Bevo” Greene (R).
Sheriff – Randy Waters (D), Freddie Clark (R), Mark Keith (R) and Donald Daugherty (R).
Circuit Court Clerk – Othel King (R).
County Attorney- Conley Chaney (R) and Austin Price (R).
County Clerk- Eric Haynes (R).
Jailer- Jessie Hatfield (R) and Joshua King (R).
Coroner- Tim Corder (R) and Teddy Coffey (R).
PVA – Bruce Lominac (R).
Magistrate District 1- William “Bill” Hale, Jr. (R).
Magistrate District 2 – Roger Phillips (R) and Butler E. Waters (I).
Magistrate District 3 – Jason Mann (R), David Price (D), and Johnny Corder (I).
Magistrate District 4- Lonnie Creekmore (R).
Constable District 1- Bill Hayes (R) and Chuck Duncan (D).
Constable District 2- Tyler Watkins (R).
Constable District 3 – Kenny Kidd (R), Thomas Corder (R) and Cody Stephens (R).
Kentucky Supreme Court 3rd Division – Dan Ballou.
Commonwealth’s Attorney 34th District – Ronnie Bowling Jr. (R) and Grahm Trimble (R).
U.S. Representative – Harold “Hal” Rogers (R).
State Representative – Yovany Pino (D).

Leave a Comment