Skip to content

Constable races heating up

By Greg Bird

This past week seven new candidates have entered races for local offices up for grabs in the May Primary and November General Election.

With still more than a month left before the deadline to register as a candidate, a total of 35 individuals have entered the races, with most of the competition centering on law enforcement, namely Sheriff and Constable.

Four candidates are in the Sheriff Race, with incumbent Randy Waters alone as a Democrat, but three Republicans battling for the November nomination.

In the four Constable races a total of 11 candidates have emerged, putting a challenger in to each race.

New candidates as of Wednesday morning include:
Tony Hansford (I) has entered the race for Jailer. Hansford is the third Independent candidate to sign up for the local elections, joining Butler Waters (Magistrate District 2) and Johnny Corder (Magistrate District 3).

Independents will not appear on the ballot in May, but will be on the General Election ballots in November.

The Jailer race has two Republican candidates so far – incumbent Jessie Hatfield and Joshua King.

Rodney Heath joined the race for Magistrate in District 3 as a Democrat, joining David Price on the Primary ballot.

Incumbent Republican Jason Mann has no opposition so far, and Independent Butler Waters will challenge in the fall.

Duston Baird (R) has filed for re-election for Magistrate District 4, pitting himself against challenger Lonnie Creekmore.

Constable races are heating up with four new candidates in the mix.

Darrell Hansford (R) has signed up to run in District 1, against Bill Hayes.

Brad Waters (R) makes it a three-man race in District 2: joining Tyler Watkins and Josh Goodin.

And incumbent Constable for District 4, David Kilby (R) has filed for re-election, and Charles Perry (R) has also entered the race.

Correction: In last week’s article we stated Donald Daugherty, who is running for Sheriff, as serving one term as Constable for District 3. Mr. Daugherty has actually served three terms in that post. We apologize for that error.

January 30 will be the final day for interested candidates to register in County Clerk Eric Haynes’ office to be considered for the Primary Election.

To date the candidates who have filed are as follows:
Judge Executive – Jimmie “Bevo” Greene (R).
Sheriff – Randy Waters (D), Freddie Clark (R), Mark Keith (R) and Donald Daugherty (R).
Circuit Court Clerk – Othel King (R).
County Attorney- Conley Chaney (R) and Austin Price (R).
County Clerk- Eric Haynes (R).
Jailer- Jessie Hatfield (R), Joshua King (R) and Tony Hansford (I).
Coroner- Tim Corder (R) and Teddy Coffey (R).
PVA – Bruce Lominac (R).
Magistrate District 1- William “Bill” Hale, Jr. (R).
Magistrate District 2 – Roger Phillips (R) and Butler E. Waters (I).
Magistrate District 3 – Jason Mann (R), David Price (D), Rodney Heath (D) and Johnny Corder (I).
Magistrate District 4- Lonnie Creekmore (R) and Duston Baird (R).
Constable District 1- Bill Hayes (R), Darrell Hansford (R) Chuck Duncan (D).
Constable District 2- Tyler Watkins (R), Josh Goodin (R) and Brad Waters (R).
Constable District 3 – Kenny Kidd (R), Thomas Corder (R) and Cody Stephens (R).
Constable District 4 – David Kilby (R) and Charles Perry (R).
Kentucky Supreme Court 3rd Division – Dan Ballou.
Commonwealth’s Attorney 34th District – Ronnie Bowling Jr. (R) and Grahm Trimble (R).
U.S. Representative – Harold “Hal” Rogers (R).
State Representative – Yovany Pino (D).

Leave a Comment