Skip to content

Judges race expands to four

By Greg Bird

Only one new candidate has declared for the local May Primary Election this past week.
Mark Sewell, business owner and County Treasurer has joined the growing list of contenders for the County Judge Executive position as a Republican candidate.
Sewell will join Jimmie “Bevo” Greene, Vicki Kidd and Michael “Mike” Neal on the Republican ballot this spring. To date there have been no Democrat Candidates file for the post.
Judge Executive Doug Stephens has stated he is not seeking re-election to a third term of office, paving the way for a new head of County Government to take the reigns starting in 2019.
In other filings Republican Representative Ken Upchurch has officially filed for re-election to the Kentucky House of Representatives 52nd District, challenger Yovany Pino has registered as a Democrat, and barring any new entries in the race will face off against Upchurch in the General Election this fall.
Somerset’s David Tapp has also filed for the vacant Kentucky Justice of the Supreme Court 3rd Division, facing off against Dan Ballou.
Less than two weeks remain for potential candidates to officially declare to be included on the May Primary ballot. The final day to register will be January 30.

As of Wednesday morning, here is a list of all registered candidates:
Judge Executive – Jimmie “Bevo” Greene (R), Vicki Kidd (R), Michael “Mike” Neal (R) and Mark Sewell (R).
Sheriff – Randy Waters (D), Freddie Clark (R), Mark Keith (R), Donald Daugherty (R), Joe Horne (R) and Roy Lynch (D).
Circuit Court Clerk – Othel King (R).
County Attorney- Conley Chaney (R) and Austin Price (R).
County Clerk- Eric Haynes (R).
Jailer- Jessie Hatfield (R), Joshua King (R) and Tony Hansford (I).
Coroner- Tim Corder (R) and Teddy Coffey (R).
PVA – Bruce Lominac (R).
Magistrate District 1- William “Bill” Hale, Jr. (R).
Magistrate District 2 – Roger Phillips (R) and Butler E. Waters (I).
Magistrate District 3 – Jason Mann (R), Clayton Worley (R), Ronald King (R),David Price (D), Rodney Heath (D) and Johnny Corder (I).
Magistrate District 4- Lonnie Creekmore (R), Duston Baird (R) and Hope R. Daugherty (D).

Constable District 1- Bill Hayes (R), Darrell Hansford (R), Jeff Tucker (R) and Chuck Duncan (D).
Constable District 2- Tyler Watkins (R), Josh Goodin (R) and Brad Waters (R).
Constable District 3 – Kenny Kidd (R), Thomas Corder (R) and Cody Stephens (R).
Constable District 4 – David Kilby (R) and Charles Perry (R).

Kentucky Supreme Court 3rd Division – Dan Ballou and David Tapp.
Commonwealth’s Attorney 34th District – Ronnie Bowling Jr. (R) and Grahm Trimble (R).
U.S. Representative – Harold “Hal” Rogers (R).
State Representative – Yovany Pino (D) and Ken Upchurch (R).

Leave a Comment