Skip to content

Election day next week

By Greg Bird

Next Tuesday is Primary Election day in McCreary County and all across Kentucky.
A total of 28 candidates will contend in nine races, ranging from Governor to Commissioner of Agriculture.
Republicans will have four races to cast their ballots: Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General and Commissioner of Agriculture. Democrats will also have choices in those races as well as three options for Auditor of Public Accounts.
In the race for Governor on the Republican side Incumbent Matt Bevin is being challenged by Robert Goforth, Ike Lawrence and William Woods for the nomination to be on the ballot in the fall. Democrats Rocky Adkins, Andy Beshear, Adam Edelen and Geoffrey Young are vying for their party’s support to take the race to November.
Four Republicans and four Democrats are contenders in the Secretary of State race. Current Secretary, Alison Lundergan Grimes, has served two consecutive terms and is ineligible to run again this election.
For the Republicans Michael Adams, Andrew English, Stephen Knipper and Carl Nett will appear on the ballot. Jason Belcher, Jason Griffith, Heather French Henry and Geoff Sebesta are the Democrat candidates.
For the Commissioner of Agriculture Ryan Quarles will face a Primary challenge from fellow Republican Bill Polyniak, while Democrats Robert Conway and Joe Trigg will fight for the nomination for their party.
Only two Republicans will appear on the ballot for Attorney General: Daniel Cameron and Will Schroder. Current Attorney General Andy Beshear is running for Governor this year and cannot appear on the ballot for two races.
There will be four Democrats on the ballot for the Auditor of Public Accounts seat: Kelsey Coots, Drew Curtis, Sheri Donahue and Chris Tobe will vie for the Democratic nomination to challenge incumbent Republican Mark Harmon, who has no opposition and will not appear on the Primary Ballot. (Drew Curtis has withdrawn from the race, but will still appear on the ballot.)
Allison Ball, the Republican incumbent for Treasurer, also has no challengers from her party will not appear on the Primary ballot, but two Democrats: Michael Bowman and Josh Mers will contend to challenge her in the fall.
Polls open at 6:000 a.m. and will remain open until 6:00 p.m.

Leave a Comment