Skip to content

Deadline to file for primary election extended to January 25

Proposed KY State Senate map puts McCreary in 25th District with Senator Stivers

By Eugenia Jones

As a result of the redistricting process, the deadline for candidates to file in all Kentucky races (including local races) was extended this year (2022 only) from Friday, January 7 at 4:00 p.m. until January 25.  Late last week, legislation extending this year’s deadline was passed by Kentucky legislators and quickly signed into law by Governor Andy Beshear, giving candidates ample time to examine new redistricting maps and file their candidacies in the correct districts.   

Afterwards, in an uncommon Saturday session, KY’s legislators approved legislation for proposed redistricting maps for Kentucky’s State House, Senate, and Congressional districts and sent the bill to Governor Andy Beshear for his signature or veto.  The Governor has ten days from the time he received the bill to review and sign it.  If the Democratic Governor vetoes the proposed redistricting plan, the Republican majority legislature is expected to override his veto and enact the redistricting plan into law. 

The United States Constitution mandates states to redraw their maps every ten years based on census population numbers.  The redistricting process can result in minimal or, as in the case of McCreary County’s 2022 proposed redistricting, significant changes within counties and/or districts.

 Based on 2020 census data indicating a decline in population for McCreary County and the extreme eastern and western portions of the state, the redrawn maps remove McCreary County from its current senate district to a new district.  In the newly drawn map, McCreary County moves from the 16th Senate District with State Senator Max Wise to the southern fringe of the 25th Senate District with State Senator (and current Senate President) Robert Stivers, a Republican from Manchester, KY.

The newly drawn 25th Senate district consists of McCreary, Whitley, Knox, Clay, Owsley, and Jackson Counties.  

Until the legislation is made into law with the Governor’s signature, a veto override, or a KY Supreme Court Decision should the legislation be challenged by a lawsuit, Senator Wise will continue to represent McCreary County in its current 16th Senate District.

The proposed maps keep McCreary County (along with Wayne and a portion of Pulaski County) in the 52nd District of the House of Representatives with State Representative Ken Upchurch. 

Sixty year old Senator Bertram Robert Stivers II, who will become McCreary County’s state Senator if the maps are approved, has represented the 25th Senate District since 1997 and has served as President of the Kentucky Senate since 2013.

Leave a Comment