Skip to content

Ready to campaign

Most local incumbents running unopposed

By Eugenia Jones

The deadline to file as a candidate in the May Primary election slid by quietly at the end of the day on  Tuesday (January 25) with an unusually slim slate of candidates running for local office in McCreary County.

The candidates running for local office in the May primary are as follows:

Republicans Milford Creekmore, David Sampson, and Charles Smith are facing off against each other to determine who will be the Republican nominee for McCreary County Sheriff.  Incumbent Sheriff Randy Waters is running unopposed on the Democratic primary ticket.  Waters is also the only Democrat running for local office in the May primary election.

Republican incumbent Judge-executive Jimmie “Bevo” Greene is running unopposed in the McCreary County Judge Executive race.

Incumbent Republican County Attorney, Austin Price, is also running unopposed as are fellow incumbents County Clerk Eric Haynes (R), PVA Dwight Ross (R), and Coroner Tim Corder (R).   Incumbent Republican Jailer, Jessie Hatfield, is taking on two Republican challengers: Alex Jones and Trevin McCullough.  

There are two contested magisterial races.  Republican incumbent District 1 Magistrate William “Bill” Hale faces challengers William “Mike” Jones and Wanda Lee Ridener.  Republican incumbent District 3 Magistrate Bobby Strunk takes on fellow Republicans Gary Wayne Clark and Clayton Worley.  Republican incumbent magistrates Roger Phillips (District 2) and Randy Maxwell (District 4) are running unopposed.

As a whole, the constable races drew the most interest with five Republican candidates running in District 1.  District 1 candidates for constable are: incumbent Darrell Hansford, Billy Hayes, Craig Jones, Willie Rollins, and Jonathan Taylor.  In the District 2 Constable race, Republican challenger Chris Carter goes up against the incumbent Republican, Freddie Clark.  District 3 incumbent Republican Constable Cody Stephens has two opponents, Republicans Kenny Kidd and Thomas Trammell.  Candidates in the District 4 constable race are Republicans David Kilby (incumbent), Dillon Perry, and James E. Winchester.

Incumbent Republican Jim Watters is the sole candidate for County Surveyor.

In the nonpartisan District Judge races, incumbent Cathy E. Prewitt and Seth Reeves are going up against each other in the 34th/1st District.  Fred F. White is running unopposed in the 34th/2nd District. 

Republicans Othel King and incumbent State Representative Ken Upchurch confront each other in the 52nd District House of Representatives race.

McCreary Countians will also vote for one U.S. Senator and Congressman in the May Primary.

Leave a Comment