Skip to content

Lominac plans return

By Eugenia Jones

McCreary County has another candidate who is showing interest in the November 2022 local election.  Late last week, the McCreary County Court Clerk’s Office received Bruce Lominac’s statement of candidacy as an Independent candidate for the office of McCreary County PVA.  As an Independent, Lominac has until June 7 to complete the filing process by submitting 100 voter signatures.  Currently, the incumbent Republican PVA, Dwight Ross, is running unopposed for re-election.

In other election news:

The McCreary County Board of Elections met recently to continue preparations for the 2022 May Primary Election and November General Election.  Points of interest from the meeting include the following:

• With the exception of three machines, all of the County’s new voting machines have arrived.  The remaining three machines are expected to arrive soon.  The new machines are in no way connected to the Internet.

• All of the old voting machines were destroyed.  By destroying the machines locally, the County saved $1,000.  

• The election will change this year in that there will be six voting centers instead of 18 precinct voting locations.  Voters will be able to vote at any center.  There will be at least six poll workers at each smaller center and a minimum of eight poll workers at the larger Pine Knot and Whitley City Centers.  The County saved $197,000 by transitioning away from 18 precinct voting locations to six larger centers.

• Election training for poll workers will be conducted on April 26, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.  Machine inspection is expected soon.

• Uncontested candidates (running unopposed) and nonpartisan candidates (such as district judge candidates) will not appear on the ballot in the May Primary.  Those candidates will appear on the general ballot in November.

• Candidates for school board have until June 7, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. to register for the November election.  Independent candidates have until April 1 to register. Members of the McCreary County Board of Elections are Eric Haynes/County Court Clerk, Liz Ridner/Democrat, Peggy Kilby/Republican, and Chief Sheriff’s Deputy Tom Smith/Sheriff’s Office.

Leave a Comment