Skip to content

Candidates for School Board File for November Election

By Eugenia Jones

With Tuesday’s (June 7, 2022) deadline being the last date to file as a candidate running for school board or soil conservation board member now history, McCreary County has managed to gain one more contested race for the November 8 General Election.

With four of the five school board member seats up for election this year, incumbent Board Member Lori Foster faces a challenger, Estle Swain, in Division 4.  Incumbents Braxton King (Division 3) and Stacey Hammons (Division 1) are both unopposed.  Cody Perry (Division 2) is also unopposed.  The incumbent in Division 2, Sherry Duncan, did not file to run for reelection.   The school board member seat in Division 5, currently occupied by Board Member Johnny Barnett, will be up for a vote again in 2024.

David Jones, Vernon Gilreath, and Marion Gilreath filed to run for the three Soil Conservation District Board Member seats currently up for election.  Normally, the top three vote-getters fill these seats.  With only three candidates filing, Jones, Gilreath, and Gilreath will automatically fill the three Soil Conservation Board Member slots, and their names will not appear on the November 8 ballot.

Leave a Comment